top of page


Juan Ramón Jiménez Foundation, a 501(c)3 entity supporting the arts through grants, publications, and donations.

To honor Zenobia Camprubí and Juan Ramón Jiménez


In January 1939, Juan Ramón Jiménez, Spanish poet and Nobel Prize winner of Literature, was exiled from Spain where he arrived in Coral Gables. Here, he lived in the pain and loneliness of exile, nevertheless, due to this solitude, one of the most beautiful books of poetry was born— “Romances de Coral Gables.” It was one of his earliest poems written in American lands. The poet had left Spain in the summer of 1936, shunning the fact that he would not return to his homeland. During his time in New York, Puerto Rico, and Cuba, the author had abstained from writing poetry, dedicating his time to lectures and reviews. It was in Coral Gables where he resumed his lyrical creations. This part of his life gave birth to “Romances en Coral Gables”, and other poetic works, as well as one of his most significant works, “On the Other Side” (1936-1942). Furthermore, the poem “Space,” published in 1954, one of his most renowned pieces, was one of the most important creations of contemporary poetry.

Juan Ramón Jiménez Foundation is created with the objective of celebrating and honoring the poet’s legacy who lived in our very city.

“Premio Internacional de Poesía Juan Ramón Jiménez de Coral Gables” is created with the objective of celebrating poetic creation and the advancement of new authors within the panorama of Hispanic poetry.

Admittedly, we will need the support of our community to accomplish our goals, and we want to give you the chance to be a part of the “Premio Internacional de Poesía Juan Ramón Jiménez de Coral Gables”. 

Thank you for all of your grand support. We hope you will join us in our quest to explore new opportunities as a community bonded together by the human cultural experience.

   Zenobia Camprubí and Juan Ramón Jiménez in Coral Gables 1940   

Board Directors​
Henry Ballate.jpg

Board Director

Henry Ballate

Roxana Martìnez Bermejo.jpg

Board Director

Roxana Martinez

Anna JRJ.jpg

Board Director

Anna M. Ballate

Jose Emilio Fernandez.jpg

Board Director

Jose E Fernandez

Alberto Lauro Pino.jpg

Board Director

Alberto Lauro Pino

Pablo Martinez Diente.jpg

Board Director

Pablo Martinez 


Board Director

Modesto D Serpa

bottom of page